« All Events

Fulbright Arctic Initiative Poster Exhibition

04/25/2023, 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm EDT

Arctic Logo

Fulbright Arctic Initiative Scholars from the United States and the seven other Arctic nations – Canada, Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia and Sweden – will be at the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History to speak with visitors and display and discuss key findings from their Fulbright research over the past year.

The event is free and open to all. The museum is located at 10th St. & Constitution Ave. NW, in Washington, D.C.  The Fulbright Arctic Research Poster Exhibition will take place in the museum’s Ocean Hall between 2-4pm on April 25.

Nineteen scholars – professors, researchers, artists, and other experts in Arctic-related fields – will discuss their explorations of topics such as:

  • Engaging local and Indigenous knowledge towards human, environmental and food security in the Circumpolar North;
  • Sustainable and reciprocal development based on renewable energy and storage;
  • Exposure to persistent, bioaccumulative and toxic chemicals in the Faroe Islands;
  • The architecture of traditional Indigenous medicine and healing;
  • Community-based solutions to Indigenous health and elder care in Alaska;
  • Climate change resilience;
  • Climate research specific to the Greenlandic society and national strategy;
  • Community perspectives on Arctic security; and
  • The role of the artist and arts in the Arctic.

Working within and across disciplines, Fulbright Arctic Initiative Scholars translate theory into practice to address public policy research questions relevant to Arctic nations’ shared challenges and opportunities, with a focus on three key areas.

  • Arctic Security and Cooperation
  • Arctic Infrastructure in a Changing Environment
  • Community Dimensions of Health

The Fulbright Arctic Initiative is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State and implemented by the Institute of International Education in cooperation with Fulbright Commissions and offices in each of the Arctic countries. Fulbright Commissions in Iceland and Canada hosted the scholars for in-person collaborative dialogues and consultative meetings with Arctic stakeholders.


Fulbright Arctic Scholar

Home Institution

Dr. Bonita Beatty

University of Saskatchewan, Canada

Dr. Lill Bjørst

Aalborg University, Denmark

Mr. Chris Clarke McQueen

Government of the Northwest Territories, Canada

Dr. Susan Crate

George Mason University, United States

Ms. Jaime DeSimone

Farnsworth Art Museum, United States

Dr. Jessica Graybill

Colgate University, United States

Dr. Elena Grigoriev

Innovative Water and Environmental Solutions, Germany

Dr. Ketil Lenert Hansen

Dr. Ketil Lenert Hansen

UiT The Arctic University of Norway

Sami University of Applied Sciences, Norway

Dr. Andrea Kraj

CORE Renewable Energy Inc., Canada

Dr. Sigríður Kristjánsdóttir

Agricultural University of Iceland

Dr. Anna Cecilia Krook Riekkola

Luleå University of Technology, Sweden

Dr. Rauna Kuokkanen

University of Lapland, Finland

Mr. Peter Wilhelm Linde

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of Denmark

Dr. Rainer Lohmann

University of Rhode Island, United States

Dr. Andreas Østhagen

Fridtjof Nansen Institute, Norway

Dr. Silja Omarsdóttir

University of Iceland

Ms. Lena Popova

North-Eastern Federal University, Russia

Dr. Anu-Sisko Soikkeli

University of Oulu, Finland

Dr. Kristopher Thornburg

United States Coast Guard


2:00 pm - 4:00 pm EDT


Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History
Constitution Ave. NW & 10th St NW
Washington D.C.,
+ Google Map
View Venue Website
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram